Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

I Wish I Knew This About Writing When I Started

Molly Roden Winter drops some knowledge I really could have used 20 years ago.

On this week’s episode of Write About Now, I talk sex, love, and marriage with bestselling author Molly Roden Winter, whose controversial bestseller More: A Memoir of Open Marriage lays bare her forays into polyamory.

If you haven’t had a chance to listen or watch, I encourage you to take a walk on the wild side. Just make sure the kids aren’t in the backseat of the car.

I asked Molly, a first-time author, what she learned about writing during her arduous years working on her book.

Her answer really resonated with me.

So often, we feel like we need to have a fully baked idea of what we’re writing before we start. This is frequently the death of many half-baked ideas.

“I can’t write that until I understand better what I want to say!”

But Molly says the opposite is true. It’s the very process of writing that brings us to understanding.

What do you think?

0 Comments
Small Talk
Small Talk
Writing tips, tricks, and musings from Jonathan Small, host of the Write About Now podcast.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Jonathan Small